July 16, 2004

  • Slowly but surely, sweating blood and shedding tears, I'm completing my romantic education. I've watched "Love, Actually" yesterday evening, and I think I'm improving because I didn't get very annoyed with the horrible performance and the awfully trite, cheesy script.
    I didn't say it didn't bother me, yo. I just said I didn't get extremely annoyed by it.


    And before any of you starts nudging me about that paper due Monday, and the final doom come Sunday, I say : Don't mess with me, monkey.
    A girl needs her distractions, else
    , she will  wither away and wilt.


    Today I'm taking Bob out. I intend to surprise the evil car with a quick bath. Then, we're going to the famous chinese doctor who is not really chinese at all, but who's counting. I'll park Bob next to his joke of a car, (Japanese, actually.) and  change into the white cotton Thai pants and white sleeveless tank top, standing on one foot in the tiny bathroom, trying to balance myself without touching the walls, where cobwebs dangle mysteriously, and not a spider in sight.
    We'll talk for an hour or so, sitting next to a dining table that bravely imitates a desk.
    I will cry, and he will take notes using a long white pencil, and offer me soft pink tissues to wipe the tears away,
    from a big flowery box.
    Then I'll glide into the room, tip toeing on the white soft mattresses that cover a gigantic oriental rug. I will lay my weary body down and  absorb the heat and pretend I'm lying on the beach in the Sinai desert, or Thailand, while he sticks needles in all the right places and speaks softly in exactly the right tone.


    Yes, that paper will have to wait a little longer still,  for after I leave the chinese doctor, who isn't  at all chinese, I'm going to have tea with Iris and her man.  A girl needs her friends, at times like this. A girl needs to be pampered with hot, sweet herb tea, and fruit and cookies and the merry sounds of children tearing each other's throats.
    And then a girl needs to take her clean car home, feed the dogs, the cats, herself perhaps.
    And a girl then simply must sit at her desk and write a paper, even though she is dying to crawl into bed and lose touch with reality; even though she may wish to broaden her romantic horizons with yet another romantic cliche` of a film, even though it has been a while since she was a girl.  But still.


     


     

Comments (21)

  • AHHH!to be a girl again!Blessings Abound

  • well...as well as your write, the paper should be a breeze, right? and thanks for sharing your automotive misery; misery loves company, they say...and it's true. besides...you're good company.

  • *Chuckles*  I hafta get used to you and Kat naming two very, very different pieces of equipment 'Bob'.  Reading this, where you say you're taking Bob out for a bath and then taking him to the doctor I had to do a double take..

  • *looks around*

    this monkey ain't sayin nuthin. she looooooooves love, actually. and is dying for some colin firth action today too.

    hiding from people you love and hiding from work, tis all the same.

    I'm glad you're going out today, quirk, and not burying your nose in a book. that's for 3 am marathon typing sessions, no?

  • the way i figure it, if it can be put off until a later day, it wasn't that important in the first place.... don't worry none about that paper.

  • The Chinese doctor who isn't Chinese sounds interesting. But I liked the changing scene best. Reminded me of a white crane.

  • I really need to get one of these Chinese, but not so much, doctors! And yes, have a cookie... or two or four, like you said, who's counting. Sleep will come and rightfully earned after your paper is done... You know you'll feel so much better once it's done.

  • i love sappy romantic movies. shall i look in my library and swing by?

  • Dude, never do today what you can put off until tomorrow. I mean, what's life without many mad, heart-bursting gallops towards various finish lines? Boring, that's what, dull as dishwater, one big snoozefest.  

  • I just adore any opportunity to luxuriate in Alan Rickman's projected presence.

  • Needles being poked into your skin to reduce tension? Who came up with that? O_o

  • I see ... acupuncture

    It's been used for at least a thousand years ... so it's not all that surprising it developed in Japan as well.

  • It wasn't obvious you were referring to the car :P

  • in my humblest opinion, a girls something you never stop being--that's what keeps you young and delightful--despite the passage of years and despite evidence of that passage of time with birthdays, holidays, and the physical aging of everyone around you---everyone but you girl---and besides papers are best when stewed over and carefully avoided (but not ignored) and madly written in mad last minute brillance.

  •    For a moment, I thought you were taking Bob to the chinese doctor... I hope that it helped relax you.Maybe the accupuncture got rid of some frustration?

       I thought "Love Actually" was supposed to be a good movie? You've not liked anything you've watched lately. Not even Ralph! Ok, "Maid in Mahatten" is not his best work, but still, the sight of that lovely man should've been enough. Plus there's penguins in the film & I know you like penguins.

       Maybe all of this thinking will result in your paper being formulated in your head & it will magically appear on your screen when you sit down to wrtite it? It's possible.

  • You need to buy a book so that i can purchase it and read it in record time. Forget the paper and just write a book. Annnnnd go.

    luv julia

  • Just don't let the Chinese/Not-Chinese doctor needle you into completing that paper too early.

  • Aw...don't boo so loudly.  I've punned far, far worse before.

  • No chiding here.  Give in, enjoy life, and do what you need to pull through!

  • I've taken to stalking the people that post her, hoping against hope that I'll recognize you from some comment in one of THEIR blogs.

    I miss you.
    j

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment